Tuesday, December 14, 2010

More of that life changing pie

That's right, "the pie that changes peoples lives" is back.

Or it's here.
I'm not sure which way it is but it's real.
The increasingly popular recipe has been added to the holiday supplement for the community interfaith cookbook (all proceeds go are donated to the local food pantry).

I thought the pie might have been in the first edition of the book, but alas, it didn't quite make it, but now, for those 6 billion people who don't know how to find the recipe (hint it's on my blog) you can get an official copy of it for you very own.

Also in case you are wondering,
here is a quick summary.

Flaky soft crust.
Almost impossible to ruin,
Also not one of those crust that you have to worry about over working,
Doesn't taste like cardboard.
no crazy ingredients or instructions (of course it has instructions... just not the crazy ones).
oh and it's goooood.

Tuesday, December 07, 2010

Pizza Eccelente

Hey everybody,
I'm assuming you already know about this,
but if not, or if you would like more details, here are the details for the party.


FRIDAY (sorry I know it's a bad day for some, but we may revisit this in the future)

6:00 (gives us time to make a little pizza, before we get too hungry)


And if you're coming, please bring an Excellent Pizza topping (and perhaps an open mind... I don't imagine that this will remind you in the least of any pizza you have ever had before, well maybe in some ways, but I can't guarantee anything ü).

Appendix One: What not to bring
Basically the things that you might find at say 5 buck pizza, or little caesars,
No this is not an affront on 5buck pizza... I'm saving that for another post.
I'm kidding... well sort of kidding. (however, I learned something that I really never supposed Five buck pizza is way better when it's fresh, I guess I just never had it fresh before)

So yeah, no Green Peppers,
no black olives, no hamburger,
no pepperoni (yes it's spicy, but is it exciting? doesn't matter, don't bring it)
Also there's nothing exciting about canned pineapple, or canned mushrooms for that matter. Seriously live on the wild side people.

Corollary: What you could bring,
Anything Smoked,
Anything Roasted,
Anything Toasted,
Anything grilled,
Anything exotic
Also exceptable.... things like:
Artichoke hearts,
Cheese, you know... something fun.

Oh yeah and if you want some meat there are some good options there too.

I think that about covers it, maybe a little redundant, but such is life.
hope you can come, and if not, hopefully it's good enough to do it again, and maybe you can come when we do. Ü

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

You've got Fail



In the news today Facebook announces a new email/ messaging service.
...Wait what?

Facebook seriously? That's like the last company on earth that I want to be in charge of my email. No really, I don't trust those people one bit. And I certainly wouldn't trust them to be in charge of my email.
First there is the whole Facebook chat thing. It's perhaps the worst chat service ever created. It bugs me to no end. It's buggy, and it's not easy to use, I do like that I finally found a way to access my "friends" through a different IM service, but on a scale from 1 to 10, I'd probably give them a 3. Now maybe... this is what they are fixing, and more power to them, but probably at the least there will still be some pretty serious issues.

Like Privacy.
Yeah Facebook hates your privacy.
I even heard it in an interview. If they were starting the company today they would totally do it differently, they would make it so everything about everyone was "open" (paraphrased).

And have you noticed how they always opt you into to their "special" new "features." Yeah like the ones that sell your information to advertisers so FB
can make more money. In fact every time they make a change, it seems like I have less control over my information (unless you search for their secret undo buttons... which fortunately they now at least give you).

Also I don't think I've ever seen a change on Facebook that I actually liked.
No, I take that back I did see one just the other day. They made the find friends pretty amazing (of course just a few weeks ago it was practically not even useable). But then just when I thought they had actually fixed it, they went and changed it on me AGAIN. Now its kind of a combination of the old and the new, and while it is still better than the old system, they got rid of some of the good features from both the old one and the new one. But at least now I don't only get suggestions to be friends with people who live nowhere near me, but with whom
I share a mutual friend (yes one mutual friend). The worst part was that it would suggest these people and ignore the people that I might actually know, like my friends.

And then there's that whole security thing. Facebook does not equal secure. In fact there are "facebook leaks" all the time. You've probably already been a part of one. This is the last place that I want my email kept, and quite honestly the last way that I want I kept.

So in summary here's what I think about facebook:
It's buggy, it's invasive, it's not secure, it's not consistent/ reliable, it's a huge time waster (yeah I just through that one in, but if I start getting farmville stuff in my new improved FB mail, I may just go ballistic. Ü) And I don't trust them... not even a little bit.

But even still I felt like creating them a logo, and Mark if you're reading this, I'll let you have it for a really good price.
Enjoy.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

I'm that boy

You know that boy. I know you do, he's the one in the funny pages.
He goes to kick the football, and then whoosh, it's not there.
I used to think that was so stupid, I mean you know it's not going to be there,
and yet he goes for it anyway.
You can imagine my surprise when I learned that he is me.
I'm that boy.

It was a strange evening, I mean there were some pretty cool things about it,
but it was strange, I mean really strange.
My friend and I were going to go to dinner.
I was pretty excited about this, because I haven't had the money to do that for a while.
I got to her apartment and her roommates said, 'oh were you meeting here?'
Turns out she wasn't home. Her roommates seemed to know that I was coming, but... where could she be?

This was not the first time this had happened, well not exactly the first time anyway.
Sometimes she was sleeping, sometimes deathly ill. Sometimes things came up, and lets face it, sometimes things come up. But this time was supposed to be different. It's not like things have never worked for us, sometimes (though not often) they do. And she's cool, or intriguing, or I don't know I just want to get to know her. Either way she assured me that this time it would work. Nothing could possibly get in the way this time. I even put it in my phone to make sure I would remember correctly. I did.

Her roommates tried to call her, but they got no response.
I tried to call her, but I too was less than successful.
Her roommates were cool. We chatted for easily half an hour, and still no one could make contact.
Finally one of the neighbors popped her head in to tell she just got a text from the girl I was supposed to be seeing, so now might be the time to try her again. Alas, I was unsuccessful. Another roommate came home and sent her a text message.
'That's strange she usually writes right back'
And it didn't get less strange. I mean this whole thing was kind of her idea.

Usually, it didn't take her long to apologize... Profusely. I basically always understood, but that didn't make it a whole lot better. Then afterwords I would think to myself this isn't worth it. It's like waking up on Christmas and realizing that your the only one who didn't get anything. And then doing it again.
But this time nothing. No apology. No text message. Nothing.
Yep I'm that boy,
And it stinks to be that boy.
I want to kick the football,
I don't even care if it's a great kick.
but it'd be nice to know the football is where it's supposed to be.